CDClick option below to add to cart.

Del Cielo

Us Vs. Them (LOV044)

1. Too Scared
2. Three More
3. Us Vs. Them
4. Joe Goth
5. Wreck
6. Second Chance To Think
7. My Suzanne
8. Cry Your Eyes Out
9. Richmond
10. Scream
11. You Win

The ladies of Del Cielo triumphantly return with their second full-length, Us vs. Them. A follow-up to 2003’s Wish and Wait, Us vs. Them is a collection of charged rock songs and contemplative ballads dealing with themes of everyday human experience. Love, friendship, jealousy, and ambition are some of the topics explored through a first-person narrative that is both deeply raw and delightfully carefree. Del Cielo’s enthusiasm combined with their musical talent and ruggedly independent spirit makes them compelling and unique.

The beauty of Del Cielo is their ability to craft personal stories with transcendent themes into intricate and memorable songs laden with hooks and unanticipated about-faces. Del Cielo employs a wide arsenal of songwriting techniques to propel them past the realm of mere catchiness into one of accomplished songcraft. Drummer Katy Otto and bassist Basla Andolsun solidly drive each song, yet they also provide an abundance of expressive detail to prevent the album from lapsing into flatness. Guitarist and main vocalist Andrea Lisi thunders into prominence with a powerful voice that conveys hurt, hope, and listless reminiscences without being oppressive or grating. Paired with Andolsun’s backing vocals, Lisi’s voice settles into a fixed softness with sublime results.

A band that is as sincere as it is fun, Del Cielo has brought their fullest efforts to create one of the year’s most exciting releases. Having already performed at noteworthy benefits/events as Ladyfest DC, Rock for Choice, and Take Back the Night with such luminaries as Rainer Maria, Q and not U, Mates of State, Against Me!, and Decahedron.

You might also like: